Concurso Internacional de Interpretación Musical Diputación de Valladolid. Premio Internacional de Piano Frechilla-Zuloaga 2013

Organising Institution: Diputación de Valladolid
Palacio Pimentel C/ Angustias, 44
47003 Valladolid
Telephone: (+34) 983 42 71 00
Fax: (+34) 983 42 72 38

Secretary-Coordinator: Junta de Castilla y León, OSCyL, Real Colegio de Ingleses, Universidad de Valladolid

The Concurso de Interpretación Musical Diputación de Valladolid, Premio de Piano “Frechilla-Zuloaga” intends to pay homage to the two pianists from Valladolid who give it their name, promoting love for piano music by playing like Miguel Frechilla (†) and Pedro Zuloaga did for a long time, already legendary, who throughout forty years travelled around the world as a concert duet.
The contest is held every two years and the tenth edition took place in Valladolid during November 2011, organised by the Valladolid County Council counting with the collaboration of the Government of Castile and Leon and the Real Colegio de Ingleses.

The eleventh edition will be held on November 10th-14th 2013.
On November 10th the opening concert taking place in the Teatro Zorrilla will be performed by Pedro Zuloaga himself who will play the Concerto for piano and orchestra in A minor Op. 54, by Schumann, accompanied by the Joven Orquesta de la Universidad de Valladolid, conducted by its principal conductor, Francisco Lara.
The first two rounds are eliminatory and will be held in the Teatro Zorrilla between November 11th and 13th. The three contestants who reach the final will participate in the final round with orchestra, to be held in the Centro Cultural Miguel Delibes Auditorio de Valladolid, with the participation of the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León conducted by Rubén Gimeno.
– First Prize: 12,000 €.
– Second Prize: 6,000 €.
– Third Prize: 3,000 €.
– Best Spanish Prize: 3,000 €.
– Audience Award. With no monetary endowment. It will be granted by vote among the public attending the final round.

The international jury, as always presided by Pedro Zuloaga, outstanding pianist from Valladolid, name holder of the prize, also counts with the pianists Breno Ambrosini; Albert Atenelle; José Enrique Bagaría, winner of the Premio Frechilla-Zuloaga 1997; and Encarnación López de Arenosa, full professor of the Royal Music Conservatory of Madrid.
More information about previous editions of the Premio de Piano Frechilla-Zuloaga in web page.

Organising Committee
President: Artemio Domínguez González, Deputy Delegate for Equality of Opportunities and Culture; Valladolid County Council.

Vocals: Ángeles de Blas Martínez, Head of the Equality of Opportunities and Culture Department; Valladolid County Council. Jordi Gimeno Mariné, Artistic Coordinator of the Centro Cultural Miguel Delibes. Ángeles Porres Ortún, Spokeswoman of the Culture and Tourism Commission of the Castile and Leon Government. Mario Garrote Soto, Director of the Valladolid Music Conservatory. María Antonia Virgili Blanquet, Full Professor of Musicology; University of Valladolid. María Isabel Núñez Molina, President of the Juventudes Musicales de Valladolid. Mª Paz Malfaz Sanz, Head of the Education and Culture Department of the Valladolid County Council. Luis García Vegas, EPTA España (European Piano Teachers Association). Javier Burrieza Sánchez, Real Colegio de Ingleses

Secretary.coordinator: Andrés Muñoz García, Expert on Cultural Management; Valladolid County Council.


1996 Francisco Javier González Novales
1997 José Enrique Bagaría Villazán, Daniel del Pino Gil
1998 Ángel Damián Sanzo Herrera
1999 Santiago Casero Alcañiz
2001 Iván Martín Cabrera
2003 Luis Rodríguez Salvá
2005 Zlata Chochieva
2007 Judith Jáuregui Fernández
2009 Eduard Kunz
2011 Marina Goshkieva