Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao

Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao
Bilbao (Bizkaia)

Head Office:
Sorkunde kalea, 8
48006 Bilbao (Bizkaia)

Telephone: (+34) 944 164 785



Managing Director: Ana Madariaga Ugarte
Principal Conductor: José R. Pascual Vilaplana
Assistant Manager: Iñaki Urkizu Kerejeta
Archivist-Copyist: Alberto Tejerina Fernández
Archive and easel Assistant: Iban González Pereira
Stage Manager: Javier Segura García
Activities Coordinator: Amaia Bilbao Telletxea

The Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao reached 123 years of age last June 9th. The history of the Band is one of passion for music which began with its first concert in 1895, under the baton of José Sainz Basabe. José Franco Ribate (1924), Pedro Córdoba Rozas (1928), Jesús Arambarri Garate (1933), Bruno Muñoz (1953), Urbano Ruiz Laorden (1969), Antonino Ibarrondo Oleaga (1979), Jesús Mª Bilbao Estefanía (1995) and Rafael Sanz-Espert (2002) have conducted the Band throughout history. Since January 2015, the prestigious conductor, composer and professor José Rafael Pascual-Vilaplana is the principal conductor of this group integrated by professionals. A settled band, proud of its past and which looks at the future with the aim of consolidating itself as a cultural reference of Bilbao in the 21st century.

Attached to the Organismo Autónomo Local Bilbao Musika, it offers spring concerts in El Arenal, gives life to the Semana Grande in different venues and fills the Auditorio del Palacio Euskalduna, the Atrio de las culturas de Azkuna Zentroa and the Auditorio del Conservatorio J. C. de Arriaga, with good music in its concert season. Great conductors like Jan Cober, Juanjo Ocón, Franco Cesarini, Pablo dell’Oca, Gary F. Lamb, Fernando Velázquez, Timothy Reynish, Isabelle Ruf-Weber, Maurice Hamers or Philip Sparke and soloists of the level of Pedro Iturralde, Manel Ramada, Javier Eguillor, Ximo Vicedo, Kepa Junkera, José A. Domené or Barcelona Clarinet Players, have performed with the Band. It has recorded 17 albums, worthy of mention those made together with Oskorri, Spanish Brass Luur Metals, that recorded in the International Conference Festival of Symphonic Wind Bands organised by the WASBE (Utrecht, Holland) and the last two concert seasons 2016-17 (Bidaiak) and 2017-18 (Haizea).

This season returns with the series ‘Encuentros’ (Meetings) counting with guest conductors and soloists of the level of Laszlo Marosi (Hungarian Meetings), Yves Segers (Reunions), Franco Cesarini (3rd Orchestra Conducting Meetings), the soloist trumpet players Manuel Blanco and José A. Gª. Sevilla (Meetings of before and now), Borja Martínez Alegre (Winner of the 2nd Orchestral Conducting Meetings), the soloist requinto player (small clarinet) (Meetings with the air), or the soloist piccolo player Iñaki Gurruchaga (Meetings with other cultures). Likewise, the Second Symphony ‘Views of Edo’ by F. Cesarini will be performed for the first time, among others.

José R. Pascual Vilaplana