Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España

Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España

Head Office:
Auditorio Nacional de Músic
Calle del Príncipe de Vergara, 146
28002 Madrid

Telephone: (+34) 91 337 01 40

E-mail: ocne@inaem.mcu.es

Web: ocne.mcu.es

Facebook: @OrquestayCoroNacionalesdeEspana

Twitter: @ocnesp

Instagram: @ocnesp

YouTube: www.youtube.com/orquestaycoro

The Honorary President is H. M. the Queen of Spain

Orquesta Nacional de España

Technical Director: Félix Alcaraz
Principal Conductor: David Afkham
Associated Conductor: Juanjo Mena
Main Guest Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach
Honorary Conductor: Josep Pons

Coro Nacional de España

Conductor: Miguel Ángel García Cañamero

The institution Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España (OCNE) includes the two stable units of symphonico-choral music of the Ministry of Culture and Sports. Its main activity is developed in its venue of Madrid, the Auditorio Nacional de Música, and in the rest of Spain and abroad through tours and the participation in the most important music festivals, with the purpose of disseminating Spanish music and culture. The Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España tackle all types of musical activities like the ‘Symphonic Series’ or the ‘Satellite Series’, as well as a socio-educational project, aimed at promoting classical music from different perspectives.

2019-20 Season

The 2019-20 season of the Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España starts on October 4th under the title of ‘Paradigms’, intending to reach the depths of the creative genius to offer the public unforgettable experiences and moments.

David Afkham faces the new season as principal conductor and artistic director, where besides releasing the new series ‘La Actualidad de lo Bello’, takes on eight programmes of the ‘Symphonic Series’ and under his baton, in January, the Orquesta Nacional de España performs in the Palacio de Festivales de Cantabria.

Juanjo Mena, associated conductor, will be at the front of two significant programmes, the first with works by the composers Walton, Elgar and Janácek together with the cello player Asier Polo. In the second, he will approach the public to the universe of Sibelius with the Violin Concerto in D minor with the international Julia Fischer. He will start the tour season in the Teatro Filarmónico de Verona, on September 15th with the Orquesta Nacional de España.

The main associated conductor, Christoph Eschenbach, keeps his close bond with the Orquesta y Coro Nacionales, opening the season on October 4th with Symphony No. 2 in C minor ‘Resurrection’ by Mahler together with Marisol Montalvo and Anna Larsson. Moreover, he will conduct a second programme dedicated to two great symphonies of Haydn and Shostakovich.

Significant Concerts

If in the previous season, the public had the opportunity to ‘die of love’ with a few Wagnerian touches, in this season, David Afkham will drive towards passionate extenuation with a peak opera (concert version) like Tristan e Isolde by Wagner. Pain and commotion or superlative ecstasies.

Leonidas Kavakos, a charismatic musician, recognised all over the world as a violinist with an unparalleled technique and excellent musicality, accompanies the ONE this season performing the Violin Concerto in D major By Beethoven.

The renowned conductor of the Symphonic Orchestra of the Colonia Radio and founder of the Chamber Orchestra of Finland, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, propose in his programme an evil concert, a tour de force for any pianist, a rapture of colour and energy which explodes in Prokofiev’s score.

‘La Actualidad de lo Bello’ is the name of a series of concerts in whose programme criterion decisively intervenes the reflection about musical thinking currents which have bound the different ways of creating music.

The Franco-German cello player, Nicolas Altstaedt is one of the most versatile players at present as soloist and orchestral conductor. In his visit to the ONE, he will centre himself on works of Haydn like the Cello Concerto No. 1 and other works by Sándor Veress and Béla Bartok.

Specialised in contemporary music and experimental repertoire of new creation, Nacho de Paz offers in a same concert, works by Olivier Messiaen, José Manuel López-López and Steve Reich.

Fernando Buide, José María Sánchez-Verdú, Josep Planells and Jesús Rueda will release their work commissioned by the Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España which once again is firmly committed with new creation of Spanish composers. Also with compositions of José Miguel Fayos Jordán, Daniel Sánchez Velasco and José Manuel López-López (a work commissioned by Fundación BBVA) will be performed for the first time.

The ‘Satellite Series’ is consolidated with diversity as a distinguishing mark. It will count with new chamber music proposals headed by professors of the Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España and two attractive projects of the Coro Nacional with instrumental accompaniment.

The ‘Family Series’ is a musical experience for the whole family which helps the passion for better symphonic music to be woken up and cultivated, represented by selected works of the classic repertoire, like Pulcinella. An educational experience, of the universal culture where music, dance and entertainment to learn together are joined.

The concerts ‘Discover…’ are a different way of approaching the great master works of classical music, performed by the Orquesta y Coro Nacionales de España on Sunday mornings. Quality music in shorter concerts, stories narrated live about the author and the work, images and audio-visual, besides the Pintasonic workshop for the youngest.

The Choir

The Coro Nacional tackles the season with very significant works that include from the colossal Mass in B minor by Bach and the great works of Romanticism, until Oedipus Rex by Stravinsky and the Lux Aeterna by Ligeti.

David Afkham

Miguel Ángel García Cañamero

Félix Palomero